Congress-ruled Punjab slashes petrol prices by Rs 10/litre

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Congress-ruled Punjab slashes petrol prices by Rs 10/litre (Image: Pixabay)
Congress-ruled Punjab slashes petrol prices by Rs 10/litre (Image: Pixabay)

Punjab : Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi has announced a price cut of Rs 10 and Rs 5 on petrol and diesel prices per litre. This comes days after the Central government had announced a excise duty on fuel.

According to the finance minister Manpreet Singh Badal, the effective per litre price of diesel and petrol will be Rs. 85 and Rs. 95 per litre respectively (as effective in Jalandhar), which will be applicable from the mid night. 

He said that on reduction effective VAT on diesel will be 9.92% and on petrol 13.77%.

On Saturday, the BJP-ruled states had reduced the prices of petrol and diesel, questioning why Congress is not decreasing the prices as they had protested the hike in fuel prices the most.

“Why is the Punjab government not giving relief to people by reducing VAT on fuel?,” BJP Punjab chief Ashwani Sharma on Saturday questioned the Channi government. “All states have reduced the prices of fuel. But this government has done nothing so far,” former chief minister and SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal said, according to a PTI report.

Which states have reduced VAT?

Karnataka, Puducherry, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Assam, Sikkim, Bihar Goa, Gujarat, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Chandigarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, Meghalaya, Ladakh, Punjab and Madhya Pradesh.

Which states are yet to reduce VAT?

Delhi, West Bengal, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu.