Nagaland CM T.R Zeliang wins floor test

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Nagaland Chief Minister won the floor test
Nagaland Chief Minister won the floor test

Kohima : Nagaland Chief Minister T.R. Zeliang on Friday won the floor test in the state Assembly.

He won the vote by a margin of 47. Zeliang got the support of 36 Naga People's Front (NPF) legislators, four BJP legislators and seven Independent members in the 60-member Assembly.

Former Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu secured 11 votes -- 10 of the NPF and one Independent. Liezietsu was not present in the Assembly as he is not a member.

Zeliang was sworn in as Nagaland's 19th Chief Minister on Wednesday, hours after Governor P.B. Acharya dismissed Liezietsu for failing to prove his majority in the Assembly. Zeliang was asked to prove his majority in the House on July 21.

However, the NPF has expelled Zeliang from the party for six years.

Zeliang moved the motion of confidence, which was followed by heated debates by Zeliang and Liezietsu supporters over the two counter whips issued by the two sides.

After the discussions, Assembly Speaker Imtiwapang Aier asked the members to cast their votes, in which Zeliang got 47 votes, while members opposing the confidence motion cast 11 votes. The Speaker declared Zeliang has won the Confidence Motion.

Chief Minister Zeliang is meeting legislators to decide on the cabinet expansion.