Opposition to boycott Rajya Sabha till 3 demands are met

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Boycott RS (File Photo)
Boycott RS (File Photo)

New Delhi : The Opposition leaders have decided to boycott the Rajya Sabha proceedings till three key demands are met as well as a "request" of revoking of the suspension of eight members, are met, Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad declared in the upper house today.

The suspended members continued their sit in protest from the Parliament lawn. They were suspended over Sunday's unprecedented chaos and "unruly behaviour" in the Rajya Sabha when two controversial farm bills were passed.

Several Opposition leaders led by Congress staged a walk out from Rajya Sabha demanding that the suspension of eight members must be revoked. The Congress was the first to walkout from the house along with members of the Aam Aadmi Party, Trinamool Congress and Left parties.

Speaking after the Zero Hour, Azad, who is the leader of the opposition in the Rajya Sabha, put out three demands including revoking the suspension of the eight members. He also demanded that the government brings a bill which should ensure private players don't procure food grains below the minimum support price (MSP) fixed by the government. The opposition's third demand was for the MSP to be based on the recommendations of the MS Swaminathan committee report.

The eight suspended Rajya Sabha members include Trinamool Congress's Derek O'Brien, Aam Aadmi Party's Sanjay singh, Congress's Rajeev Satav and CPM's KK Ragesh.

"You can suspend me. You cannot silence me," Trinamool Congress's Derek O'Brien, who is among the eight suspended members, tweeted.