Presidential Polls 2017: Tricky selection process simplified

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
President of India election process
President of India election process

New Delhi : India is all set to get its 14th President on India as MPs and MLAs cast their votes on Monday. The successor of 13th President Pranab Mukherjee will be taking up responsibilities for tenure of 5 years.

Former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar are the candidates for the India’s top constitutional post this time. Selection process is a bit tricky and different from the normal elections so here News Heads try to make it simple to understand for its readers.

# President of India is not elected by the people of India.

# Only members of the Parliament and State Assemblies can cast their votes to elect President of India.

# Nominated members are not allowed to cast their votes. So, cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar and actress Rekha will not be casting their votes this time.

# Total 4,120 members of the state legislative assemblies and 776 members of parliament elect the President of India.

# Each MLA vote comes with a certain value that is calculated on the basis of population of the state. The total value of all MLA votes is 5,49,495.

# Value of an MP vote is same for all and it 708.

# The total value of MLA votes is divided by the total no. of MPs (only elected). 

# The candidate requires over 50 per cent votes to win the election.