BJP expels 53 leaders for indiscipline, anti-party activities

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

Bhopal : The BJP on Thursday expelled 53 rebel party leaders, including former Union minisrter Sartaj Singh, ex-minister Ramkrishna Kusmaria, for anti-party activities and indiscipline.

BJP spokesperson Deepak Vijayvargiya told IANS, "The party decided to expel 53 leaders on Thursday."

In a major action taken against the turncoats ahead of the November 28 Assembly elections, BJP has removed Bhind MLA Narendra Kushwaha, former Gwalior mayor Samiksha Gupta, Lata Mehsaki, Dheeraj Pateria and Raj Kumar Yadav among others.

Party sources said these leaders have worked against the party.

Kusmaria is considered a big leader in Bundelkhand region with hold over the Kurmi community. He has filed nomination from Damoh and Pathariya assembly constituencies.

Meanwhile, Sartaj Singh had last week joined Congress after his name was dropped from the party's candidate list. Congress has fielded him from Hoshangabad assembly constituency seat.

Former Minister K.L. Agarwal was also expelled from the party. He has filed nomination from Bamori assembly constituency as an independent candidate.

While, Pateria has filed his nomination papers against minister Sharad Jain. Former BJP MLA Brahmanand Ratnakar has filed nomination from Bairasiya assembly constituency against BJP's Vishnu Khatri.

Similarly, former BJP MLA Sudama Singh has filed his nomination from Pushparajgarh assembly constituency and Samiksha Gupta is contesting from Gwalior south.

The voting for the 230-member Assembly is due on November 28. The counting of votes is on December 11. The BJP is in power in the state since 2003. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is seeking fourth consecutive term in the state.