CBI books 12 TMC leader, CM Mamata Banerjee cries foul

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : The blame game has been started after CBI booked 12 top TMC leaders in the infamous Narada sting operation case. The CBI on Monday booked top TMC leaders including MPs and ministers, drawing a sharp reaction from the party chief Mamata Banerjee. The West Bengal CM called it a political game and blamed BJP over the issue.


In the sting operation, which was claimed to have been carried over two years, the TMC leaders are seen purportedly accepting money from representatives of a fictitious company in return for favours.

The tapes, broadcast by a portal Naradanews.com just before the assembly elections last year, had sent shock waves through West Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress but the party posted a resounding victory under the ebullient Banerjee.

The TMC leaders against whom the CBI has registered the FIR include Rajya Sabha MP Mukul Roy, Lok Sabha MPs—Saugata Roy, Aparupa Poddar, Sultan Ahmed, Prasun Banerjee and Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar.

West Bengal ministers including Urban Development Minister Firhad Hakim, Transport Minister Suvendu Adhikari, Environment Minister Sovan Chatterjee, Panchayati Raj and Rural Development Minister Subrata Mukherjee have also been named in the FIR.

Former Minister Madan Mitra, MLA Iqbal Ahmed and IPS officer Saiyaad Mustafa Hussain Mirza have also been made accused in the case. Mirza, who was then posted as the SP of Burdwan, was too purportedly seen accepting money on camera.