Devendra Fadnavis takes oath as Maharashtra CM, NCP's Ajit Pawar becomes deputy CM

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Devendra Fadnavis is the new CM
Devendra Fadnavis is the new CM

Mumbai : In a major surprising development, Devendra Fadnavis on Saturday morning took oath as the Maharashtra CM for the second consecutive term while NCP's Ajit Pawar took oath as the Deputy CM of Maharashtra.

The development came a day after talks between NCP, Shiv Sena and Congress seem to have entered into the final phase.

Earlier, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar has said that the three parties have come to a consensus on Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

The BJP could not stake claim to form the government after its ally remained firmed on their demand of 50:50 power sharing in the state.

Shiv Sena parted its ways with BJP in order to explore new opportunities with other parties to form the government in the state. It however failed to get the required number of MLAs to prove majority in the state.

The Government then invited NCP to prove majority, but later the state was put under the President's rule.

The BJP had won 105 seats in the 288-member Assembly in Maharashtra.