Kolkata's shri Krishna Yadav conferred Dr. B R Ambedkar Award

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Kolkata's shri Krishna Yadav conferred Dr. B R  Ambedkar Award
Kolkata's shri Krishna Yadav conferred Dr. B R Ambedkar Award

New Delhi : On the Constitution Day of India, the ninth edition of Bharat Ratna Dr. B R Ambedkar Award ceremony was held at Dr. Ambedkar International Center, Delhi. Shri Krishna Yadav of Kolkata was conferred this award posthumously for his notable efforts in social sector and remarkable works in the field of education of girls. 

These awards were given in various fields for exemplary contribution in film, acting, arts and culture, sports, journalism, health, education and social service. 

The chief guest of the ceremony were Lok Sabha MP Smt. Rama Devi and Lok Sabha MP Sunita Duggal. Shri Krishn Yadav's grand-daughter Ekta and son-in-law Abhishek Yadav received the award on his behalf. 

Shri Krishna Yadav had done tremendous works in the field of education of girls during his life time. 

After receiving the award, Ekta Yadav, granddaughter said, “My grandfather dedicated his life for the education of girls. There is an awakening towards educating girls in the society, but there is still a section of the society marginalize and deprive girls from getting educated. My grandfather reached among those and explained them the importance of education of girls. This step persuaded those parents to educate girl child.”

On this occasion Ekta's husband Abhishek said, “The society should be vigilant about the education of girls. Girls should be made financially self-reliant before their marriage because the illumination of education spreads throughout the family when a girl is educated. This helps spread the light of education in the society.”

The award ceremony was conferred on eminent personalities of various fields including theater and film industry. MP Ravi Kishan, actor Anupam Shyam, K.K. Goswami, Siddharth Nigam, SS Azad, Anamika Singh, Senior journalist of Lok Sabha channel Amarendra Singh, Dr. Devendra Singh, Vaishali Dhoot, Dr. Murari Lal embraced the event. Some other noted and influential personalities across various fields of politics and society were present. 

The Chief Patron of the Bharat Ratna Dr. Ambedkar Award is  Honorable Shri Ramdas Athawale, Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment. The team of patrons of the award ceremony includes Honorable Mr. Rajesh Verma, Lok Sabha MP, Dr. Sunil Baliram Gaekwad, former MP, Neelam Sonkar, former Lok Sabha MP, Film Actress ,and Playback Singer Salma Agha and former Chairman of Censor Board Pahlaj Nihalani.