Manohar Lal Khattar aims government in Haryana with 7+2 formula

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar
Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar

Faridabad : Manohar Lal Khattar is likely to return as the Chief Minister of Haryana with the support of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) MLA Abhay Chautala, Haryana Lokhit Party (HLP) MLA Gopal Kanda and seven Independents.

He will be holding a meeting with the leaders in support on Friday afternoon before he moves to Chandigarh to stake claim. 

“The chief minister will meet the Governor to stake his claim to form the government today,’’ a BJP leader told Hindustan Times before Khattar’s meeting with BJP bosses Amit Shah and JP Nadda.

The report also mentioned that Manohar Lal Khattar would want the oath taking ceremony to be held at the earliest, if possible later today evening.

The results for the Haryana Assembly elections were announced on Thursday; BJP won 40 seats, emerging to be the single largest party, followed by Congress 31 seats. The BJP is six short to claim majority in the 90-member Assembly.

Five of the winning Independents - Sombir Sangwan from Dadri, Balraj Kundu from Meham, Dharampal Gonder from Nilokheri, Nain Pal Rawat from Prithla and Randhir Gollen from Pundri are BJP rebels who contested as Independents. The remaining two Independent MLAs are Ranjit Singh, son of former Deputy Prime Minister Devi Lal and younger brother of the former chief minister OP Chautala, and Rakesh Daultabad from Badhshahpur. All seven are expected to give their letters of support to the BJP on Friday.