UP Elections 2017, Phase 6: Voting underway amid tight security

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Voting for phase 6 in UP Elections
Voting for phase 6 in UP Elections

Lucknow : Polling for 49 seats in the sixth and penultimate phase of the Uttar Pradesh elections began at 7 a.m on Saturday amid tight security.

The over 1.72 crore electorate will decide the fate of 635 candidates across seven districts in eastern UP.

Prominent candidates in the fray include Bharatiya Janata Party's Swami Prasad Maurya (Padrauna) and former state unit chief Surya Pratap Shahi (Pathardeva), and jailed don Mukhtar Ansari, contesting from Mau on a Bahujan Samaj Party ticket.

Maximum number of candidates are in Gorakhpur city where 127 candidates in fray for its nine seats, while the minimum number of candidates - seven - are in Mohammadabad Gohna seat in Mau.