Yeddyurappa wins trust vote in Karnataka Assembly

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Yeddyurappa wins trust vote in Karnataka Assembly
Yeddyurappa wins trust vote in Karnataka Assembly

Bangalore : Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa on Monday won the trust vote in Karnataka Assembly through a voice vote.

"Winning the trust vote is, taking one more step closer towards a stable and strong administration. Will uphold the trust by ensuring transparent and accountable governance. I would like to thank the citizens, MLAs and each and every BJP Karyakartha for the trust placed in me," Yeddyurappa said after the win.

Earlier on Saturday, speaker K R Ramesh had disqualified 14 rebel MLAs with immediate effect till end of the term of the assembly.

Addressing a press conference in Bengaluru, the speaker announced disqualification of 14 rebel MLAs - Pratapgouda Patil, BC Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, ST Somashekhar, BA Basavaraja, Anand Singh, R Roshan Baig, Munirathna, K Sudhakar, MTB Nagaraj, AH Vishwanath, K Gopalaiah and Narayana Gowda and Shrimanth Patil.

Eleven of the lawmakers disqualified are from the Congress and three from the Janata Dal (S). The resignation of the MLAs which began on July 6, eventually led to the collapse of the H D Kumaraswamy government on July 23 after a trust vote.