942 Police Medals to be given on I-Day, CRPF tops

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : The Central Reserve Police Force's (CRPF) constable Sharief-ud-Din Ganaie and Head Constable Mohammad Tafail, who lost their lives in 2017 while fighting militants in Jammu and Kashmir, have been posthumously selected for the President's Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG) -- the highest Police Medal.

Their names are among the 942 central and state police personnel whom the government has selected for 'Police Medals' on the occasion of the 72nd Independence Day on Wednesday.

Ganaie and Tafail succumbed to bullet injuries they received while fighting three Jaish-e-Mohammed militants who on December 30 midnight attacked the CRPF's South Kashmir-based Lethpora camp, one of the largest security establishments. Both the personnel were deployed in the CRPF's 185 Battalion.

Of the medal winners, 117 personnel have been selected for the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), 88 for President's Police Medal for Distinguished Services (PPM) and 675 for Police Medal for Meritorious Services, the Union Home Ministry announced on Tuesday, adding that the list of awardees was approved by President Ram Nath Kovind.

The 3.5 lakh strong paramilitary force bagged the highest number of 154 Police Medals. It is the only force whose two personnel were chosen for the PPMG awards posthumously. The force also bagged a record 89 PMG awards among all armed forces and 58 PM awards. The CRPF is in the fourth place in bagging PPM awards.

In the PMG awards list, the CRPF is followed by the Jammu and Kashmir Police (37), Odisha Police (11), Border Security Force (10), Maharashtra Police (8), Chhattisgarh Police (6), five each by the Delhi and Meghalaya Police, Assam Police (3); and one each by Bihar, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh Police.

The Intelligence Bureau bagged the highest eight PPM awards followed by six each by the Central Bureau of Investigation and the Uttar Pradesh Police; CRPF (5); four each by Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha Police and the Border Security Force; three each by the Central Industrial Security Force, Indo-Tibetan Border Police and Delhi, Maharashtra, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu Police forces; two each by Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Punjab, Telangana, Uttarakhand and West Bengal Police; and one each by Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura, Chandigarh and Lakshadweep Police.

The Sashastra Seema Bal, the National Investigation Agency, the National Disaster Response Force, Ministry of Home Affairs and Railways also bagged one award each.