Surya Grahan 2018: Date, time, place and all you should know

  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Surya Grahan 2018: Date, time, place and all you should know
Surya Grahan 2018: Date, time, place and all you should know

New Delhi : After watching double blood moon recently, India is all set to witness another celestial event in the sky. This time the sun will be under Moon's shadow, better known as Surya Grahan; it is the third eclipse of 2018.

“During the eclipse, the so-called New Moon will partially pass in front of the Sun, obscuring as much as 65 per cent of the star in certain parts of the world,” Express.co.uk reported.

The event comes 15 days after people had witnessed blood moon. On July 27-28, people across the world witnessed longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st century for over six hours.

Here is all you must know about Surya Grahan 2018

Time: A partial solar eclipse or Surya Grahan will be seen during the wee hours of the day. The eclipse will reach maximum eclipse by 9.46am UTC (10.46am BST) and end at 11.30am UTC (12.30pm BST).

Date: August 11, 2018

How to watch: It is advised that solar eclipse should not be watched with naked eyes. However, it can be seen with the help of special pairs of eclipse glasses available in the market. A pinhole camera is often used to watch a solar eclipse.

So, save the date for another interesting event and share your views about it in the comment section below.