Saina Nehwal to skip IOC Athletes Commission meeting

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Indian shuttler Saina Nehwal
Indian shuttler Saina Nehwal

New Delhi : India's ace shuttler Saina Nehwal is likely to miss International Olympics Committee's Athletes Commission meeting next month, claiming that she won’t be able to churn out time from her preparations for super series tournaments in China and Hong Kong.

Saina Nehwal has conveyed his message to the Indian Olympic Committee about her inability to attend the meeting. 

"I have been invited to attend very important maiden IOC athletes Commission meeting at Lausanne from 6-11 Nov. 2016 but I am not joining there because of my earlier commitments to Play in China and Hong Kong coinciding the prestigious meeting. If any feedback related to our subject, may please apprise me so that it may be conveyed to IOC," Saina said in the letter addressed to IOA Secretary General Rajeev Mehta.

China Super Series Premier has been scheduled from November 15-20 and Hong Kong Open Super Series from November 22-27.

Despite her inability to attend the function she is proud to be a member of IOC and wants to be associated with it in future too.

"It is my proud privilege to write that I was appointed as IOC Athletes Commission Member by President IOC, Thomas Bach and I will be working in Athletes commission with Ms Angela Ruggiero the Chair IOC Athletes Commission. I am glad to be associated with Olympics IOC Athletes Commission.

"I am from India, a badminton player where a lot is to be done for the promotion of Olympics particularly for women, though during this year the share of women at RiO 2016 Olympics was cent percent for India. P V Sindhu (silver), Sakshi Malik (bronze) in wrestling and Deepa's performance in gymnasts are the landmarks in this chapter of Olympics."

Last week Saina was appointed as a member of IOC Athletes Commission, which is chaired by American ice hockey Olympian Angela Ruggiero and comprises nine vice presidents and 10 other members.