Australia brings in four spinners for India tour

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : It will be a litmus test for Steve Smith and his boys in next month as they will be playing on Indian mine fields. The Aussies who have won a Test match in Indian since 2004, have left no stone unturned to prepare for the much-awaited series. From preparing in UAE to selecting spinners to recalling some of their players.

The Cricket Australia has announced the squad for India series which includes uncapped legspinner Mitch Swepson. The four-Test series in India will start from Febuary 23.

Swepson, from Queensland, was named in the 16-man squad along with fellow spinners Ashton Agar, Nathan Lyon, and Stephen O’Keefe, and allrounder Glenn Maxwell, who provides a fifth spin option.

The Marsh Brothers are back in the squad for Indian series. Matthew Wade is the only specialist wicketkeeper.

Swepson has played 14 first-class matches, taking 41 wickets at an average of 32.

The first Test begins at Pune on February 23, the second at Bangalore on March 4, the third at Ranchi on March 16, and the fourth at Dharamsala on March 23.

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve O’Keefe, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade.