Fans raise question on umpiring during MS Dhoni's runout
MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja took India from 92 for 6 to 208 after which the two batsmen got out in quick succession. India eventually fell short of the target by 18 runs and were knocked out of World Cup 2019.
Hours after fans were left heartbroken with the unwanted result in the semi-final game of the World Cup 2019 tournament, a video has been making a round on the social media claiming that the ball on which Dhoni was given runout was a no-ball.
In the pictures and video going viral on the social media, a small graphic could be seen where 6 New Zealand players were standing outside the ring.
As per ICC rules, only 5 fielders can be outside of the 30-yard circle in the 3rd powerplay. Thus, if the pictures stand true, the delivery should have been called a no-ball.
Issue is not the fact that there would anyway have been a run out off a no ball. Had Guptill been the fielder inside the circle Dhoni may not have gone for the 2nd run.— Sumanth Raman (@sumanthraman) July 10, 2019
Well, the authenticity of the video and the pictures is not known.