Kohli replaces MS Dhoni as limited overs skipper, Yuvraj recalled

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : A new ear has started in the Indian cricket after Virat Kohli appointed as the new captain in all three formats. With MS Dhoni stepping down as skipper of limited overs the baton has been handed to India’s one of the best batsman. 

After a gap, middle order batsman Yuvraj Singh has been recalled to both the ODI and T20I squads for India's upcoming series against England in January. 

While Dhoni retained his place in both squads, Delhi’s wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant was named in the T20I squad. This was the 19-year-old Pant's first international call-up. 

In the absence of the injured Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane kept his spot in the ODIs, but the selectors opted for youth in the T20Is, going for Mandeep Singh ahead of Rahane. Shikhar Dhawan, who had been kept out of the Test squad despite recovering from his hand injury, walked back into the ODI squad.

Suresh Raina made a return too, but only to the T20I squad. He was originally selected for the ODI series against New Zealand, but illness ruled him out of the initial stages and he was later released. 

Both R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are back in the limited overs squad. Jadeja was rested against New Zealand in ODIs. 

Haryana’s Yuzvendra Chahal got a place in the T20I squad while veteran Amit Mishra retained his spot in the ODIs. Ashish Nehra, who missed the tours of Zimbabwe and the USA, came back to the T20I side, with the selectors going for experience in the bowling attack.

 India will be playing three ODIs and T20s against England starting from January 15. 

ODI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

T20I squad: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (capt), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra