Ross Taylor missed out in 15-member T20 World Cup squad

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Ross Taylor missed out in 15-member T20 World Cup squad (Image: Twitter/T20WorldCup)
Ross Taylor missed out in 15-member T20 World Cup squad (Image: Twitter/T20WorldCup)

New Delhi : New Zealand Cricket have announced the names of their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup which will be played in the UAE in October-November. This time batsman Ross Taylor and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme have been dropped.

Pacers Kyle Jamieson and Lockie Ferguson have been included in New Zealand’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Simultaneously, they also announced the squad for the T20I series against Bangladesh and Pakistan and the ODI series against the latter.

Additionally, a new crew of coaching staff, headed by Wellington coach Glenn Pocknall, will lead the tours to Bangladesh and Pakistan alongside experienced manager Mike Sandle – with regular bowling coach Shane Jurgenson joining as head coach for the Pakistan T20 series.

Tom Latham has been appointed as the captain for New Zealand squad playing against Bangladesh and Pakistan, and the usual combination of skipper Kane Williamson and coach Gary Stead will resume duties for the T20 World Cup and the Test tour to India.

Interestingly, Ross Taylor was selected for the three ODIs in Pakistan but considering the brief duration of series and quarantine protocols, the management mutually agreed with him to let him prepare for series against India. 

The first BlackCaps squad will depart for Bangladesh on the 23rd of this month and the players from the Test tour to India will return home and emerge from MIQ just before Christmas.

New Zealand T20 World Cup squad: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne (injury cover). Coaching Staff: Gary Stead, Shane Jurgensen, Luke Ronchi, (fourth coach TBA)

New Zealand squad for Bangladesh T20s & Pakistan ODIs: Tom Latham (c) (wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

Coaching Staff: Glenn Pocknall, Graeme Aldridge, Tilan Samaraweera

New Zealand squad for Pakistan T20Is: Tom Latham (c) (wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Coaching Staff: Shane Jurgensen, Glenn Pocknall, Graeme Aldridge, Tilan Samaraweera.