Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of World Cup 2019 with thumb injury

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Shikhar Dhawan during a match
Shikhar Dhawan during a match

London : Team India's left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of ICC World Cup 2019. He suffered a thumb injury after being hit by a Pat Cummins delivery during his 109-ball 117 knock against Australia.

According to reports, he will not be able to recover by the time the world cup 2019 tournament will conclude.

A news agency IANS quoted sources as saying, “Dhawan has been ruled out. He is not in a position to take part in the World Cup.”

Earlier, Indian assistant coach Sanjay Bangar had said that the team management is not in favour of ruling Dhawan out of the tournament.

“We will take at least 10-12 days to take a call on Shikhar’s condition. We don’t want to rule out a precious player like him,” Bangar had told the media on the eve of India’s third World Cup clash against New Zealand.

Wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant has been playing at his position; the management has not announced any replacement officially.