Umpire Kumar Dharmasena admits to error in New Zealand vs England World Cup
London : Umpire Kumar Dharmsena, who awarded England six runs for the overthrow in the last over of New Zealand vs England World Cup 2019 final, has admitted to the error and said that one less run must have been given on that ball to England.
A throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes as he tried to complete a second run and raced to the boundary, with Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarding six.
Former Sri Lankan Test player Dharmasena told the Sunday Times he did not have the benefit of television replays which showed the batsmen had not crossed.
“I agree that there was an error of judgement when I see it on TV replays now,” Dharmasena, who was umpiring the final with South Africa’s Marais Erasmus, told the local Sunday Times.
“But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I do not regret the decision I made.”
Dharmasena said he signalled six after consulting the other match officials. “So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee,” he told the newspaper.
Three balls later the scores at 50 overs were tied as England reached 241 all-out replying to New Zealand’s 241-8. It took the nail-biting final to a Super Over which again was tied but England lifted the trophy by virtue of having scored more boundaries.
Critics, including former leading umpire Simon Taufel, said England should have been awarded five runs, not six, as the batsmen had not crossed for the second run at the moment the ball was thrown.