IPL 2020 schedule: Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians to be season opener

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
IPL 2020 Schedule
IPL 2020 Schedule

Dubai : IPL 2020 Schedule: After several delays in announcing the schedule for upcoming IPL season, BCCI has revealed the match schedules on Saturday.

It is now official that the defending champion Mumbai Indians will be playing against Chennai Super Kings in the event opener matches on September 19 in Abu Dhabi.

After event opener, the first game will be played on Sunday between Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab, followed by the third match on Monday between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

"The IPL action will shift to Sharjah on Tuesday, 22nd September where Rajasthan Royals will host Chennai Super Kings," a BCCI press release stated. 

There will be 10 double headers with the first match starting at 3:30PM IST and 2:00PM UAE time. 

All evening matches will start at 7:30PM IST and 6:00PM UAE time. In all, 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah.

The venues for playoffs and the final game of IPL 2020 will be announced at a later stage.

Earlier, the schedule was delayed after 13 members of Chennai Super Kings were found coronavirus positive. Also, due to different quarantine rules in Dubai and Abu Dhabhi, IPL’s operation team took extra time to finalise the schedule.