Sanju and Padmaavat get most nominations at IFFM Awards 2018

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Sanju’s box office collection in the second week of its release falls short of Rs 300 crore
Sanju’s box office collection in the second week of its release falls short of Rs 300 crore

New Delhi : Deepika Padukone starrer Padmaavat and Ranbir Kapoor starrer Sanju have entered the nomination list for the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) Awards 2018. The former by Sanjay Leela Bhansali and the later by Rajkumar Hirani are blockbuster films in the Bollywood movie market.  Sanju’s box office collection in the second week of its release falls short of Rs 300 crore and is still giving a bang in the theatres. While Padmaavat in its second week collected Rs 66.53 crore, according to BoxOfficeIndia report.

Coming to IFFM Awards 2018, Simi Garewal, Nikkhil Advani, Sue Maslin, Jill Bilcock, Andrew Anastaisos and Geoffrey Wright will come together as the jury members at the event. They will choose winners across six categories — Best Film, Best Indie Film, Best Actor, Best Director, Best Supporting Role and Best Director.  

Padman, Hichki, Padmaavat, Sanju, Secret Superstar, Raazi, Mahanati and Rangasthalam are competing for Best Film, while the nominees in the Best Indie Film category are In The Shadows, Village Rockstars, Balekempa, Up, Down and Sideways (Documentary), Mayurakshi, Garbage, Sir and Love Sonia.

In the Best Actor category, Ranbir Kapoor’s Sanju act is up against Varun Dhawan (October), Ranveer Singh (Padmaavat), Akshay Kumar (Padman), Manoj Bajpayee (In The Shadows), Fahadh Faasil (The Exhibit and the Eyewitness), Soumitra Chaterjee (Mayurakshi) and Shahid Kapoor (Padmaavat).

Among the Best Actress nominees are Rani Mukerji  from Hichki, Vidya Balan from Tumhari Sulu, Deepika Padukone from Padmaavat, Alia Bhatt  from Raazi, Bhanita Das from Village Rockstars, Keerthy Suresh from Mahanati, Tillotama Shome  from Sir and Zaira Wasim from Secret Superstar.

For the Best Supporting Performance award, Vicky Kaushal (Sanju), Ranvir Shorey (In The Shadows), Samantha Akkineni (Mahanati), Richa Chadha (Love Sonia), Freida Pinto (Love Sonia), Trimala Adhikari (Garbage) and Meher Vij (Secret Superstar) are in competition.

As for the Best Director category, Rajkumar Hirani for Sanju, Shoojit Sircar for October, R. Balki for Padman, Siddharth P Malhotra for Hichki, Advait Chandan for Secret Superstar, Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Padmaavat, Rima Das for Village Rockstars, Dipesh Jain for In the Shadows, Ere Gowda for Balekempa, Suresh Triveni for Tumhari Sulu, Meghna Gulzar for Raazi, Tabrez Noorani for Love Sonia and Rohena Gera for Sir are competing.

IFFM award function will be held from August 10-22 under the theme of Inclusion. This year, the gala will over 60 films in 22 languages, explores the diversity of contemporary Indian cinema, from Bollywood box-office hits, documentaries and art-house premieres, to a Bollywood dance competition and master classes with key figures from the Indian film industry.

IFFM Director Mitu Bhowmick Lange said: “Our competition section is as diverse as the films and people who come for the festival. It has some mainstream, indie and regional films but the one thing they share no matter what the language or theme, it is a fantastic eye-catching cinema.”