12 Rajya Sabha MPs suspended for rest of the Winter Session

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Congress leaders protesting near Gandhi statue (Image tweeted by @priyankagandhi)
Congress leaders protesting near Gandhi statue (Image tweeted by @priyankagandhi)

New Delhi : 12 Rajya Sabha MPs were suspended on Monday for the rest of Winter Session for unruly behaviour.

The suspended MPs include six from Congress, two each from TMC and Shiv Sena and one each from CPM and CPI.

The suspended MPs are: Elamaram Kareem (CPM), Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain and Akhilesh Prasad Singh of the Congress, Binoy Viswam of CPI, Dola Sen and Shanta Chhetri of Trinamool Congress, Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai of Shiv Sena.

Both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha were sounded noisy on the first day of winter session as the government cleared a bill to cancel three farm laws in record time amid Oppositions demand for a discussion on the bill.

In the Rajya Sabha, several Congress MPs and Dola Sen of TMC trooped down to the well after the motion was moved by agriculture minister Narendra Singh Tomar. 

Parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi moved a motion for the suspension of the 12 MPs, that was adopted via voice vote. 

The house was adjourned soon after.