Australia brings Finch, Marsh back for New Zealand ODIs

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Australia brings Finch, Marsh back for New Zealand ODIs
Australia brings Finch, Marsh back for New Zealand ODIs

Sydney : Swashbuckling opener Aaron Finch was on Monday recalled to the Australia squad in place of David Warner for the three-match Chappell-Hadlee One-day International (ODI) series in New Zealand, starting January 30.

Warner, who has been playing non-stop cricket across the three formats, will take a break before joining the squad for the all-important four-match Test tour to India, next month.

Announcing the squad, Cricket Australia's (CA) interim national selector Trevor Hohns said: "David has had a very big summer and will benefit from a break in cricket, both mentally and physically. He will travel to Dubai in the second group of departures to coincide with those players arriving from the one-day series in New Zealand."

"This gives Aaron an opportunity to return to the side. His form in the Big Bash League has been very good and he has earned his recall."

Besides Finch, another opening batsman Shaun Marsh also returned to the side with Usman Khawaja heading to Dubai early to prepare for the series against India.

"With Usman heading to Dubai in the first group of players this provides Shaun with a chance to get back into international cricket following his injury earlier in the summer," Hohns said.

Players named in this squad will not be available to play in the Big Bash League (BBL) final on January 28 as they will depart for New Zealand a day before.

The opening match of the series will be played on January 30 at the Eden Park in Auckland before the second game on February 2 at McLean Park in Napier followed by the final match at Seddon Park in Hamilton on February 5.

Australia: Steve Smith (Captain), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), Adam Zampa.