England win second ICC T20 World Cup, beat Pakistan by five wickets

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
England win second ICC T20 World Cup, beat Pakistan by five wickets (Image: Twitter/T20WorldCup)
England win second ICC T20 World Cup, beat Pakistan by five wickets (Image: Twitter/T20WorldCup)

New Delhi : After West Indies, England has become the second nation to win ICC T20 World Cup title twice since the inception in 2007. The English side edged out Pakistan in the final game by five wickets.

Jos Buttler's side held Pakistan to 137-8 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday. In a low scoring game, the only hope for Pakistan was to get quick wickets, which certainly happened but the English side proved themselves better.

In the chase, England slumped to 49-3 in the sixth over. Ben Stokes (52 not out) and Moeen Ali (19) then took the battle in their hands and kept their cool to ensure victory for their side.

The English side achieved the target with six balls in spare.

The victory added to the 50-over title England won in 2019, building on the legacy of former captain Eoin Morgan, who retired this year after transforming the team into a white-ball juggernaut.

After 2010, this is the second time when England has lifted the ICC T20 World Cup trophy. Apart from them West Indies is the only nation who have lifted the cup twice in the tournament.


Pakistan Innings: Mohammad Rizwan b Sam Curran 15 Babar Azam c and b Adil Rashid 32 Mohammad Haris c Stokes b Adil Rashid 8 Shan Masood c Livingstone b Sam Curran 38 Iftikhar Ahmed c Jos Buttler b Stokes 0 Shadab Khan c Chris Woakes b Chris Jordan 20 Mohammad Nawaz c Livingstone b Sam Curran 5 Mohammad Wasim Jr c Livingstone b Chris Jordan 4 Shaheen Afridi not out 5 Haris Rauf not out 1 Extras: (B-1, LB-1, W-6, NB-1) 9

Total: (8 wkts, 20 Overs)

Fall of Wickets: 1-29, 2-45, 3-84, 4-85, 5-121, 6-123, 7-129, 8-131.

England bowling: Ben Stokes 4-0-32-1, Chris Woakes 3-0-26-0, Sam Curran 4-0-12-3, Adil Rashid 4-1-22-2, Chris Jordan 4-0-27-2, Liam Livingstone 1-0-16-0.

England Innings: Jos Buttler c Rizwan b Haris Rauf 26 Alex Hales b Shaheen Afridi 1 Philip Salt c Iftikhar Ahmed b Haris Rauf 10 Ben Stokes not out 52 Harry Brook c Shaheen Afridi b Shadab Khan 20 Moeen Ali b Mohammad Wasim Jr 19 Liam Livingstone not out 1 Extras: (LB-1, W-8) 9

Total: (5 wkts, 19 Overs) 138

Fall of Wickets: 1-7, 2-32, 3-45, 4-84, 5-132

Pakistan bowling: Shaheen Afridi 2.1-0-13-1, Naseem Shah 4-0-30-0, Haris Rauf 4-0-23-2, Shadab Khan 4-0-20-1, Mohammad Wasim Jr 4-0-38-1, Iftikhar Ahmed 0.5-0-13-0