"Not Timed Out!" Angelo Mathews shares video evidence on social media
New Delhi : The Sri Lanka versus Bangladesh match in Delhi made headlines for all the wrong reasons that could have possibly made to the match. Angelo Mathews was given timed out as he failed to enter the field within the permissible time limit of ICC guidelines.
Bangladesh skipper Shakib-al-Hasan had to face a lot of bashing for his call, as many people tagged it against the spirit of the game. However, the Bangladesh skipper called it a rule, and he liked to go make the full use of it.
Interestingly, on Tuesday, Angelo Matthews posted a video on social media indicating that he was given wrongly timed out as he was having five seconds remaining to enter the field. In his proof post, he showed the time when the catch was taken and the time when the strap of his helmet came off.
"Video evidence shows I still had five more seconds even after the helmet gave away!" he wrote. "Can the fourth umpire rectify this please? I mean safety is paramount as I just couldn't face the bowler without a helmet.
"This is clear cheating, I want justice," he added in another post.
For those who are not aware, the incident happened on the 25th over as Matthew didn’t face a single ball before returning to the dressing room. When he was entering the field, he came up with the wrong helmet and had issues adjusting it. He then asked for a correct helmet, by the time a substitute came with it. The Bangladeshi player appealed for a timeout and he was given out as per ICC rules.
Although Matthews tried to explain the situation to the umpires but as per rules, he was given out. He also then reached out to the Bangladeshi players who rejected to withdraw their appeal. And as a result, Matthew was out for duck without facing a ball.