10th edition of I-League launched amid fanfare

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : After Hero Indian Super League, it’s time for the I-League to enthrall the football lovers in the country. The 10th edition of I-League was launched in the presence of Indian football stars, including striker Sunil Chhetri and goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

India’s premier domestic football competition will see a return of representation from all four regions of the country -- Mohun Bangan, East Bengal, Aizwal FC and Shillong Lajong from the East and North East; Mumbai FC, DSK Shivajians and Churchil Brothers from the West; Bengaluru FC and Chennai City FC from the South and debutants Minerva Punjab will bring the North back into top flight Indian football after a gap of five seasons.

The Hero I-League is the premier league of the country through which teams participate in the AFC Cup and the AFC Champions League.

The six-month league will kick off on January 7 in Bengaluru with defending champions Bengaluru FC locking horns with Shillong Lajong FC.