Hockey India announces team for the 4th Women U-18 Asia Cup

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : Hockey India today announced an 18-member squad for the 4th Women U-18 Asia Cup to be held in Bangkok, Thailand from December 16-22, 2016. The team will be led by Udita and Salima Tete will be her deputy.

Fresh from her stint with the national side in the recently concluded series against Australia, 14-year-old Salima Tete will be a key member in the Indian defence that will be held by Ritu, Neelu Dadiya, Suman Devi Thoudam, and Gagandeep Kaur, along with goalkeepers Divya Thepe and Alpha Kerketta.

The midfield will see young talents including Udita, Manpreet Kaur, Jyoti, Mariana Kujur, Mahima Choudhary, and Lalremsiami. The forward line will include Sangita Kumari, Poonam, Leelavathy Mallamada Jaya, Rajwinder Kaur, and Mumtaz Khan.

An enthusiastic group of young players, the girls are upbeat and confident before the tournament. Captain Udita said, "This is a very good learning opportunity for young players like us. The team is really looking forward to playing in Bangkok. We are playing well as a unit and will put our best foot forward against our opponents.”



1. Divya Thepe


2. Alpha Kerketta



3. Salima Tete (Vice Captain)


4. Ritu


5. Neelu Dadiya


6. Suman Devi Thoudam


7. Gagandeep Kaur




8. Udita (Captain)


9. Manpreet Kaur


10. Jyoti


11. Mariana Kujur


12. Mahima Choudhary


13. Lalremsiami




14. Sangita Kumari


15. Poonam


16. Leelavathy Mallamada Jaya


17. Rajwinder Kaur


18. Mumtaz Khan