IPL 2020 in Dubai: Title Sponsor, dates, venues and all you need to know

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
IPL 2020 (Image: IPLt20.com)
IPL 2020 (Image: IPLt20.com)

New Delhi : Less than a month is left when IPL 2020 will return after facing the wrath of coronavirus pandemic that rattled the world in the ongoing year. With precautions and safety measures in mind, the authorities have finally churned out a way to make it happen and let the entertainment prevail.

Here is all information we have and you must know about IPL 2020:

When, where and why?

IPL 2020 was postponed due to coronavirus pandemic in India and now when things are looking a little settled up, the authorities have planned to hold the event in UAE. It was supposed to happen in March 2020, but amid unavoidable circumstance, it will now start from September 19.

To ensure the safety of people and players, the IPL 2020 matches will be played in empty stands and will be broadcasted across televisions. Also, the authorities have decided that three venues will be used for the mega 53-day tournament to minimize the traveling of players for safety reasons.

The event has been shifted from India to UAE because the former is still battling with coronavirus and the conditions are not feasible to conduct an event of that big magnitude.

Title Sponsor

After learning about protests from people of India against Chinese companies, BCCI was left with no option to suspend their contract with VIVO and go for a new title sponsor in very short period of time.

Dream 11 has outbid Byju’s and Unacademy to emerge at the top, bagging the rights for Rs 222 crore to be the title sponsors of the cash-rich Indian Premier League, replacing Chinese mobile giants VIVO.

Their contract will be limited for a year and will end on December 31, 2020.

IPL 2020Schedule

A detailed schedule is yet to be officially announced. But on the official website of IPL T20 it has been mentioned that the 53-day tournament will witness 10-afternoon matches starting at 15:30 IST while the evening matches will start at 19:30 IST.