Gaurav Gill nominated for Arjuna Award 2019

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Gaurav Gill nominated for Arjuna Award 2019
Gaurav Gill nominated for Arjuna Award 2019

New Delhi : In a major step in the world of Indian motorsports, ace rally driver Gaurav Gill has been nominated for the prestigious Arjuna Award 2019.

The selection committee for the Sports Awards 2019 announced its recommended list of names for the honour this year and Gill's name has been added owing to his impressive run in rallying over the past years.

The official announcement of the awards will be done on September 25, 2019.

Started in 1961, the Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to recognise the outstanding achievement in sports and remains the highest civilian honour for sports in the country.  

Gaurav Gill has remained consistent with his performance and have received recognition with three victories in the Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC). The 37-year-old won the APRC in 2013, 2016 and 2017 with Team MRF-Skoda.

Other than this he has also won Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) six times over the years, apart from winning a number of domestic motorsport events.

He is also competing in the 2019 INRC with Team Mahindra Adventure.

In a career span of two decades, Gaurav Gill won the National Motocross Championship in 1999 and followed it up by participating in Raid-de-Himalaya in 2000. He went on to participate in the National Road Racing Championship finishing as a runner-up in 2003, while winning it the next year. Gaurav won the National Rally Championship in 2007 with Team MRF, while also making his APRC debut the same year. Gill also participated in the Production World Rally Championship (PWRC), now known as the WRC3, in 2008 and 2009. The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) had previously nominated Gill's name three times in the past years, given his impressive form in the sport.

Apart from Gill, the 2019 Arjuna Awards have received 18 other nominations including cricketer Ravindra Jadeja, boxer Sonia Lather, wrestler Pooja Dhanda among others.