Odisha to start science H.S schools for SC, ST students

  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Representational Image
Representational Image

New Delhi : In order to build powerful education system for minority, the Odisha government has decided to include 21 high schools to the higher secondary schools. The schools for SC and ST students will provide science education to them, said officials. 

ST & SC Development, Minorities & Backward Classes Welfare Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi said the new upgraded higher secondary schools will come up in Gajapati, Kandhamal, Sundergarh, Nabarangpur, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Kalahandi, Mayurbhanj and Balangir districts. He futher added that there will be science stream higher secondary schools and classes will start from current academic year. Accordingly, 154 junior lecturers have been appointed to teach the students,

"For the current academic session 2018-19, the government has decided to upgrade 21 more high schools to higher secondary schools," Mr Majhi said. 

Earlier, the state government has upgraded 26 High Schools of Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur districts into higher secondary schools in the science stream till 2017-18. These schools are under the supervision of SC/ST development department, officials said.

Possibly, the initiative by government will help to uplift the education process for minority section of the society. Also, SC/ST students are facilitated with age relaxation, reduced fee-structure and more in higher education. There are also reserved seats for them in most of the government colleges.