Smart Cities, Round 4: 9 more cities added to the list

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Smart Cities, Round 4: 9 more cities added to the list
Smart Cities, Round 4: 9 more cities added to the list

New Delhi : A new list of smart cities has been announced on Friday with Silvassa of Dadar & Nagar Haveli topping it. The Round 4 list includes nine new cities that have won the national smart cities challenge.

With the addition of nine new cities to the previous list, the total count of smart cities has now reached to 99.

The government on Friday claimed that the total investment in these 99 cities will be Rs 203979 crores.

“It is heartening to note that the winning cities have improved the quality of their Smart City Proposals by 19% (average) to become eligible for selection. Each city has developed a unique vision and has selected an area (ABD) which will be developed as a lighthouse, to be replicated by the city. The 9 cities selected have proposed an investment of Rs 12,824 crores of which Rs 10,639 crores would be in Area-Based Development (ABD) and Rs 2,185 crores in Pan City initiatives which would be impacting 35.3 lakh persons living in these areas,” said Hardip Puri Minister of State (I/C) for Housing & Urban Affairs.

A complete list of cities announced in Round 4:

  1. Silvassa, Dadar & Nagar Haveli
  2. Erode, Tamil Nadu
  3. Diu, Daman & Diu
  4. Biharsharif, Bihar
  5. Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
  6. Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh
  7. Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh
  8. Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh and
  9. Kavaratti, Lakshwadeep

Previously, 20 cities were selected in January 2016, 13 cities in May 2016, 27 cities in September 2016 and 30 cities in June 2017.