BJP since 1980 to 2018: Take a look

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp
Representational Image
Representational Image

New Delhi : Over the past 38 years, India’s major political party, Bharatiya Janata Party has shown a remarkable rise in its performance. Officially created on April 6, 1980, the party emerged from the Jana Sangh, which was formed in 1951 by Shyama Prasad Mookerjee. Later, the Jana Sangh merged with some other parties to form the Janata Party in 1977, after the Emergency imposed by then Congress Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. However, the Janata Party dissolved in 1980 and its members formed BJP with Vajpayee as its first president.

Take a look at the rising BJP performance in Lok Sabha from 1984 to 2018

1984: Wins only two seats

1989: Wins 85 seats, provides support to VP Singh's National Front Government

1991: Fresh polls after BJP withdraw support. Party wins 120 seats

1996: BJP becomes single largest party winning 161 seats but lacks in majority in LS.Vajpayee government lasts only 13 days

1998: Mid-term polls held & BJP Wins 182 seats. NDA forms government under Vajpayee for a yera.

1999: Coalitions splits when AIADMK withdraws support and fresh elections are held, NDA wins 303 seats, an outright majority. BJP tally is 182

2004: NDA's 'India Shining' campaign fails and coalition suffers unexpected defeat. BJP bags 138 seats and becomes main opposition party

2009: NDA is defeated again. BJP wins 116 seats and continues as the principal opposition party

2014: BJP led by Narendra Modi wins landslide victory. Party wins 282 seats, NDA wins 336 seats.

2015:  BJP primary membership reached about 100 million

A BJP track record suggests that BJP won a landslide majority in the 2014 general elections, winning 282 seats in the Lok Sabha.  And, the title of the longest-serving CM goes to Narendra Modi who before becoming the prime minister was the chief minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014. He’s followed by Raman Singh in Chhattisgarh since 2003 and Shivraj Singh Chouhan since 2005. Both of them are currently at the controls of their respective states.

The next elections is scheduled for 2019, BJP politicians know that the level of victory in 2014 may be difficult to repeat. In a bid to get re-elected, the party will possibly focus on its three core strengths i.e a leader, an ideology and a cadre. Till the election time arrives, let us all wait and watch!