Rajya Sabha passes four GST Bills, India set to become a unified market

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Reddit
  • Flipboard
  • Email
  • WhatsApp

New Delhi : Rajya Sabha on Thursday passed four GST Bills, ensuring merger of the new taxation policy smoothly to make India a unified market latest by July 1.

Last week on Wednesday, the Lok Sabha had passed Central Goods and Services Tax (CGST) Bill, Integrated GST Bill, Compensation GST Bill and Union Territory GST Bill 2017, after negating all the amendments put forward by the Opposition.

The four GST Bills were passed after an eight-hour marathon debate in the Lower House.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and other officials hailed the passage of four Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bills in the Lok Sabha as a milestone in economic history of the country, congratulating the Council members for their efforts.

"I congratulate everyone on the passage of GST Laws by Lok Sabha. It is a landmark tax reform since independence. A historic day for all of us. 

Congratulations to every trader, producer and consumer of goods and services in the country on the passage of historic GST Laws," Jaitley said here in a tweet.